Ramadan With Children

image

I have to admit, I was quite nervous about last Ramadan; I kept thinking, ‘how am I going to fast an entire day with three small children?’ The more I thought about it, the more I stressed myself out! But then, I decided to change things up that year. I made the decision to not attend any Iftar’s; which was a first because every year I either go to the Mosque, or to a family member’s house for Iftar. The deciding factor was the timing of Iftar – 10pm! Yes, at 10 pm I would rather have the kids in bed while I peacefully open my fast, instead of having my children cry at a family member’s house due to fatigue and being in an unfamiliar environment!

I have to say it WAS very peaceful! Instead of rushing to get three kids ready, and driving to a relative’s house, then having small talk with family, while trying to comfort my children; just staying home and reading the Quran with my children quietly playing in the comfort of our own home was a relief! I also decided to open my fast with a date and a simple fruit salad! That’s it! I didn’t bother preparing fried foods, and I avoided excessive cooking altogether! While I did miss spending time with my family during Ramadan, I did enjoy taking advantage of every minute I could in devoting that time to Allah SWT!

I’m not saying to avoid Iftar’s, but I’am saying don’t feel pressured to go to every one- especially if you have small children and your fast opens around their bedtime! Plus, seeing my family during Eid was extra special because I hadn’t seen them at all for a month! Alhumdulillah, I plan to do the same for this Ramadan! May Allah SWT make Ramadan easy for all parents! © The Muslimah Mommy (2014)
Protected by Copyscape Unique Content Checker

4 thoughts on “Ramadan With Children

Leave a Reply

