DIY Felt Puppets, Dolls, and Prayer Mat

 

image

When my 6 year old daughter asked me if I would help her make a doll and prayer mat, I instantly agreed. I remember being a little girl and wanting to make a doll myself; for there is something to be said about the sentiment of homemade dolls. As I was stitching my daughter’s doll, she was anxiously standing by my side in anticipation; little did she know, I was just as excited!

I decided to make the dolls out of felt sheets that I found for $0.40 each, making them cost effective and forgiving if I were to make a mistake during the process. For the detailing, I used some fabric from an old dress I had, and some of my daughter’s hair clips. If left unstuffed with the bottom unstitched, these dolls can serve as puppets that slip onto your hands. To turn the puppets into dolls, simply stuff them and stitch the bottom – I just used some left over felt scraps to stuff the dolls. I left the dolls faceless, but you can add a face by either using buttons, or drawing the face on with a marker. In the end, both my kids and I were pleased with the results.

Here are the pictures of our doll making process

The sheets of felt

The sheets of felt

I used a yogourt container lid to measure and trace the shape of the head, and I used the sides of the lid as a template for the width of the doll

I used a yogourt container lid to measure and trace the shape of the head, and I used the sides of the lid as a template for the width of the doll

The template is all done, time for cutting! I put the front side and back side together, and cut both pieces together

The template is all done, time for cutting! I put the front side and back side together, and cut both pieces together

Next step is to trace the face using any small round object you have on hand

Next step is to trace the face using any small round object you have on hand

Now, stitch the face onto the front facing fabric

Now, stitch the face onto the front facing fabric

You can use the template that you cut up for the shape of the doll as a prayer mat, just put it on top of another felt sheet and stitch the two pieces of felt together!

You can use the template that you cut up for the shape of the doll as a prayer mat, just put it on top of another felt sheet and stitch the two pieces of felt together!

image

Add the details using any materials you have. I made an arabic turban for my son’s doll and added some hair clips to my daughters dolls. © The Muslimah Mommy (2014)
Protected by Copyscape Unique Content Checker

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Felt Puppets, Dolls, and Prayer Mat

  1. Masha’Allah your daughter is so creative, Sis. And she is lucky to have you as her mother. You can help and teach her to make something creative. Wonderful, my sister! 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Ramadan Journal – Puppets Shows & Murder | The Muslimah Mommy

Leave a Reply

